Election Commission Announced Dates For Assembly Election 2023 In 5 States

A significant move in India's democratic process, the Indian Election Commission has announced the dates of the assembly elections for Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram. Voting is set to take place from November 7 to 30 with results being announced on December 3.

EC announces poll dates for the assembly election 2023 in 5 states, results will be declared on December 3

The dates for the upcoming month’s Assembly elections in five states have been released by the Indian Election Commission. Election dates were made public by the election commission for Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram. 

Chhattisgarh will hold two rounds of voting on November 7 and 17, while Mizoram will vote on November 7. On November 17, Madhya Pradesh will hold elections, followed by Rajasthan on November 23, and Telangana on November 30. On December 3, the results will be made public.

Read More : BJP Releases First list of candidates for Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2023!

The Commission’s declaration represents a crucial turning point in India’s democratic process as political fervour is on the rise and the country eagerly anticipates upcoming elections. Rajiv Kumar, the chief election commissioner of India, spoke to the media and the country during a jam-packed press conference. The commission made a point of highlighting the importance of these elections and their dedication to holding fair elections in the beginning.

“India has a rich democratic tradition, and the Election Commission is determined to uphold the sanctity of our electoral process,” Rajiv Kumar, CEC, said. “The 2024 Assembly Elections in these five states will reflect our unwavering dedication to democracy and the will of the people.” Before the five assembly elections, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar remarked, “We have met with all stakeholders, including political parties and enforcement agencies.”

While the Rajasthan Assembly has 200 seats and is governed by the Congress, the 230 constituencies in the BJP-ruled Madhya Pradesh will elect legislators. The battle for 119 Assembly seats in Telangana will pit the governing Bharat Rashtra Samithi against the BJP and the Congress. The Mizo National Front now controls the 40-seat Assembly of Mizoram, but the Congress is prepared to challenge the BJP in the 90-seat Chhattisgarh legislature.

Like this post?
Register at One World News to never miss out on videos, celeb interviews, and best reads.

Shriya Gupta

Journalist, Talks about Politics, Culture and International Affairs. Love to see things through the lenses. Short Films and Documentries make me More excited.
Back to top button