Delhi Election 2020: Why Shiromani Akali Dal split up with BJP?

Why Shiromani Akali Dal split up with BJP
Shiromani Akali Dal BJP Logo

Decoding the rift between Shiromani Akali Dal and BJP amid Delhi Assembly Elections

Shiromani Akali Dal announced their split-up with BJP, barely days after the party opposed the Citizenship Act in the Punjab Assembly. The Congress government had moved a resolution against the CAA saying that it is a divisive and against the spirit of a ‘free and fair democracy”.

Shiromani Akali Dal favoured the inclusion of Muslims in the Citizenship Act to be eligible to get citizenship of the country under the new law.

SAD’s decision to not contest the election with BJP is hardly expected to determine the BJP’s fortunes in the Delhi election. But it may impact their ties in Punjab. In 2013 Delhi poll, the SAD contested four seats alongside BJP and won three. In 2015, they lost all the three seats to AAP. However, Manjinder Singh Sirsa won the bypoll from the Rajouri Garden seat in 2017.

Why Shiromani Akali Dal and BJP split up
Why Shiromani Akali Dal and BJP split up

Akali Dal wanted to contest the election on its own symbol

A BJP leader said that the SAD was ready to contest elections from Rajouri Garden and Kalkji, but when asked about to use BJP’s symbol, SAD lodged a protest and opted out.

Traditionally, SAD has influence in 7-9 constituencies in Delhi. The anti-Badal Akali groups have approached the BJP to fill in the void created by SAD.

The SAD has also joined the anti- NRC group. Manjinder Singh Sirsa said that during the Delhi election-related meetings with the BJP, his party was asked to reconsider its stand on the CAA. He said that we were firm on our decision that Muslims could not be left out of the CAA.

Read More: Sai Baba birthplace Row: Why it has become a matter of Debate?

A top BJP leader said that the BJP election strategy includes a series of neighbourhood meetings beginning January 24. A group of about 30 prominent leaders will address the gatherings of 100-150 people and explaining the concepts of NRC, CAA, and NPR. BJP President JP Nadda, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP Chief Ministers Jairam Thakur, Yogi Adityanath and Triverndra Singh Rawat and some other chief ministers will be holding the meetings.

Another theory says that SAD parted their ways from BJP because they wanted 2 more seats of Rajendra Nagar and Moti Nagar but BJP denied their wish.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at