Uddhav Thackeray cm of Maharashtra: Uddhav Thackeray to take oath as Maha CM tomorrow, Discussion on Power-sharing continues

Ankit Kumar
Uddhav Thackeray cm of maharashtra
PC- Uddhav Thackeray's Twitter account

Uddhav Thackeray cm of Maharashtra: Oath ceremony at 6:40 pm, Balasaheb Thorat & Jayant Patil in the race for deputy CM

After a lot of political drama, Uddhav Thackeray is all set to take oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra tomorrow at 6:40 pm. Uddhav will be first from his family to take the office. Thackeray will have two deputy chief ministers, each from NCP and Congress. Discussion on power distributions will take place this afternoon when leaders from the new Maha Vikas Aghadi coalition will meet.

The unlikely alliance along with independents and smaller parties, staked claim to power after the 80-hour Fadanvis government collapsed on 26th November.

The ratio of portfolio-sharing will be finalized in the next two days

Maharashtra Congress chief Balasaheb Thorat said that the ratio of portfolio-sharing will be finalized in the next two days. Numbers of Minister of State and number of Cabinet will also be decided in the coming two days.  He made it clear that the three parties are in for intense negotiations and bargaining.

Maharashtra has basically 43 ministries which are to be divided between Shiv Sena, NCP, and Congress. It is speculated that Sena will get 15, NCP will get 15 and Congress will 12 ministries. Smaller parties in the state like Samajwadi Party and Swabhimani Sangathana also need to be accommodated.

Read more: Explained: What is irrigation scam and how Ajit Pawar is involved in it?

Congress demanded the post of a speaker but NCP and Sena not on board

Sources say that Congress has demanded the post of speaker but NCP and Sena are not on board with that. Also, there hasn’t been any agreement on who will get big ministries like finance, home and revenue.

The two names which are doing rounds for deputy CP posts are Jayant Patil from NCP and Balasaheb Thorat from Congress said NCP leader Majid Memon. Talking about his name as deputy CM, Mr Thorat said that “There is no such decision yet, I am not aware of any such possibility so I won’t be able to comment on it.”

The new CM for Maharashtra, Uddhav Thackeray will take oath at Shivaji Park in Dadar. The party holds traditional Dussehra rally every year on the same ground. Mr Thackeray has never contested election so he will become a member of Legislative Council in the bicameral Maharashtra assembly. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will also be given the invitation to attend the oath ceremony. Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi are also likely to get an invitation.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at info@oneworldnews.com

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments