Tiranga-The Indian Tricolor

Tiranga-The Indian Tricolor


Tiranga is the national flag of Indian Republic. Horizontally the Indian flag has three color strips namely saffron, white and green. In the middle of white strip is a navy blue wheel with 24 spokes.


According to the Flag Code of India, the flag represents: “The color of the top panel shall be India saffron (Kesari) and that of the bottom panel shall be India green. The middle panel shall be white, bearing at its centre the design of Ashoka Chakra in navy blue color with 24 equally spaced spokes.”


Tiranga-The Indian Tricolor


The national flag of India was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 22nd July 1947 and was announced as the national Flag of the Dominion of India.


The Indian Tricolor is based on the Swaraj flag of the Indian National Congress and was designed by Pingali Venkayya.


The National Flag of India is made from ‘Khadi’ and the actual manufacturing process and its specifications are vividly laid by the Bureau of Indian Standards.


Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission reserve the right to manufacture Indian Tricolor.


The first horizontal saffron strip of the flag represents sacrifice and courage, white strip represents purity, peace and veracity and green strip represents prosperity. The Ashoka Chakra is symbolic of the Law of Dharma or righteousness.


Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments