Hot Topics

PM Modi amongst longest serving head of an elected government. Twitter can’t keep calm

Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nirmala Sitharaman and JP Nadda among many who congratulated Modi for completing 20 years of service without a break


Prime Minister Narendra Modi reached yet another political milestone on Wednesday as he entered his 20th year in a public office without a leave. The Prime Minister also achieved the feat of being among the world leaders who have served extended tenures as the heads of an elected government. Other world leaders in the list are

  •  Bill Clinton in the United States (20 years),
  •  Franklin D. Roosevelt in the United States (16 years 3 months),

  •  Helmut Kohl in Germany (16 years),

  • George W. Bush in the United States (14 years),

  •  Francois Mitterrand in France (13 years 11 months),

  •  Margaret Thatcher in the United Kingdom (11 years 8 months) and

  •  Barack Obama in the United States (8 years).


Netizens could not keep calm after knowing that the Prime Minister has not taken any break in the last 20 years. They were all praise for the Prime Minister. Some senior leaders too congratulated PM Modi for achieving this feat. #20YearsofNamo was trending on top on Twitter in the first half of the day. Here are some interesting reactions.

Read more: Top 5 books on Narendra Modi for good insight into his life









Prime Minister’s office tenure


PM Modi has served 13.5 years as the Chief Minister of Gujrat and today he completed 6.5 years as the Prime Minister of the country. PM Modi became the CM in Gujarat at a time when the saffron party was battling infighting among its own leaders. It can’t be denied that Narendra Modi used his three terms as CM of Gujrat to strengthen the party and helped BJP to end the domination of Congress at the centre.


Modi was sworn in as Gujarat chief minister on October 7, 2001 soon after the catastrophic earthquake which had rocked Bhuj area in Gujarat. His several steps to help the state develop at a rapid pace earned him a tag of a progressive leader.  The massive development work in the state helped Narendra Modi become a popular face across the country as he cut state boundaries. Narendra Modi won three consecutive terms in Gujarat till 22 May 2014. Then, he was sworn-in as the PM of India and since then he continues to be head of Prime Minister’s office in the country.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Show More
Back to top button