Hot Topics

Lockdown returns in various parts of India, know which states have imposed lockdown

Know the dates and areas of states which are seeing the return of lockdown in India

As the Coronavirus numbers continue to surge in the country, various state governments have imposed lockdown in several places. Some have announced the state-wise lockdown while some states have imposed district, city or area wise lockdown. In this article, we are going to tell you about every state which has brought back the lockdown to stop the spread of coronavirus.

Maharashtra government has imposed a 10-day strict lockdown from Monday in Pune and Pimpri-Chinchwad. A lockdown has been imposed in Osmanabad city as well till July 19 to break the chain of the global pandemic.

Lockdown returns in Bihar with strict restrictions

Bihar Deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi announced the 15-day total lockdown in the state from July 16 to July 31. A shutdown was earlier in place in nearly a third of its 38 districts including the state capital Patna.

Assam government extended the two-week lockdown imposed from June 28 till July 19 from 6 pm on Sunday in Kamrup Metropolitan district, under which Guwahati falls.

A 7-days long total lockdown came into effect in Bengaluru from 8 pm on Tuesday. Karnataka’s Dharwad and Dakshina Kannada districts too will come under lockdown for 9 days and 7 days respectively from Wednesday.

Uttarakhand authorities announced that a 3-days lockdown has been imposed in Rudrapur and Bajpur in Udham Singh Nagar district of Uttarakhand with effect from midnight 13 June due to a surge in coronavirus cases. Earlier Kashipur was already announced to be in a lockdown area.

Kashmir has also seen the return of strict lockdown restrictions on Monday after a sudden surge in the number of coronavirus cases in the valley over the last 7 days.

UP government announced lockdown on weekends

Read more: Sachin Pilot joins the list of rebel politicians, here are other famous rebel politicians

The Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government has decided to implement strict restrictions across the state on weekends to keep a check the spread of COVID-19. All urban and rural markets, haats, business establishments and galla mandis in Uttar Pradesh would remain closed during the period, it said.

The Edappadi Karuppa Palaniswami government of Tamil Nadu had earlier imposed a lockdown for varying periods in state capital Chennai, Madurai and nearby regions. Tamil Nadu has the second-highest number of cases after Maharastra in the country.

The Pema Khandu-led BJP government of Arunachal Pradesh extended the lockdown on Saturday in the capital region for another week till 5 pm on July 20 in the wake of rising COVID-19 numbers.

The Meghalaya government had imposed a 2-days lockdown in the capital of the state Shillong from 6 AM on Monday till Wednesday 6 AM.

Mamta Banerjee’s West Bengal government imposed strict lockdown in containment areas and nearby buffer zones from July 9 evening which will last till July 19. These zones are located in and around Kolkata, besides Cooch Behar, Malda, Silliguri and Jalpaiguri.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Show More
Back to top button