Jharkhand Elections 2019: 1st phase elections details inside

Ankit Kumar
jharkhand election 2019

189 candidates will lock horns on 13 assembly seats in Jharkhand

Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019 will commence from 30th November and will be held in five phases. Results will be declared on 23rd December. The Election Commission announced the dates of the election on November 1. The first phase of election is on 30th November, the second phase of election is on December 07, third phase on December 12, the fourth phase on December 16 and the last phase of the election on December 20.

There are 81 constituencies in Jharkhand, of which 13 constituencies will vote in the first phase, 20 will vote in the second phase, 17 will vote in the third phase, 15 will vote in the fourth phase and 16 will vote in fifth phase. The Maoist-affected state has a large tribal population. Assembly polls in 2014 were also held in five phases where BJP emerge victoriously.

This will be third state elections after General elections in May where BJP registered a historic victory. Elections were recently held in Rajasthan and Maharashtra. BJP led by Raghubar Das will look to repeat/better its performance in the upcoming elections.

The thirteen constituencies where elections are held in the first phase are Gumla, Chatra, Manika, Lohardaga, Bishunupur, Latehar, Daltonganj, Panki, Chhatarpur, Bishrampur, Garhwal, Hussainabad, Bhawanathpur.

A total of 189 candidates will lock horns on 13 assembly seats in Jharkhand.  About 228 candidates filed their papers for the first phase. 22 nominations were rejected after scrutiny while 17 candidates had withdrawn their papers. Bhawanathpur has the most number of candidates while Chatra has the least.

Read more: How electoral bond is biased for the ruling government?

Key Candidates for Phase 1 Jharkhand elections?

Eyes set on some key candidates when the first phase of elections will take place. Former BJP chief whip Radhakrishna Kishore from AJSU Party ticket in Chhatarpur seat, JMM MLA Chamra Linda in Bishunpur Seat and Bhanu Pratap Sahi, a former minister in Bhawanathpur.

BJP has designated 40-star campaigners for the elections in Jharkhand. It includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister & BJP National President Amit Shah, BJP working President JP Nadda, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das, and party general secretary BL Santosh.

Other BJP star campaigners are UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Union Ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nityanand Rai, Arjun Munda, Prahlad Joshi, Dharmendra Prasad, Smriti Irani, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, and Arjun Ram Meghwal.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at info@oneworldnews.com

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments