Jaipur Literature Festival releases first list of speakers

All you need to know about Jaipur Literature Festival

All you need to know about Jaipur Literature Festival:- The Jaipur Literature Festival is one of the most renowned and popular annual literary festival that takes place in Japiur. The festival has been going on since the year 2006 and The Diggi Palace Hotel serves as the main venue for this five day event.

The 10th Edition of the fest will take place from 19th January to 23rd January next year. The theme it will focus on is- ‘The Freedom to Dream: India at 70’. JLF co-director Namita Gokhale said- “In 2017, there will be a special focus on translations and the pulse of world literatures. Ceaselessly celebrating the wonders of the dreaming mind, the Jaipur Literature Festival invokes the collective energy of our brilliant authors and extraordinary and engaged audiences.”

The festival has announced the first list of 10 speakers who will be coming for JLF.

· Alice Walker- She is an African- American who wrote the famous novel The Color Purple for which she won the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Meridian and The Third Life of Grange Copeland are some other works by this author.

All you need to know about Jaipur Literature Festival
Jaipur Lit Fest

Read Here : Birthday Bash: Remembering the Legendary ‘E. E. Cummings’

· Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni- Her books include Mistress of Spices, The Place of Illusions, One Amazing Thing and many more.

· Eka Kurniawan- He is an Indonesian writer who has written Beauty is a Wound Man and Man Tiger: A novel.

· SL Bhyrappa- He is a Kannada novelist, who has written books such as Parva, Mnadra, Yaana and many more.

· Nassim Nicholas Taleb- He is Lebanese-American essayist who has written books such as The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable, Dynamic Hedging and many more.

· Mark Haddon- He is an English novelist, best known for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. He has also won the Whitbread Award, Guardian Prize, and a Commonwealth Writers Prize for his work.

· David Hare- He is an English playwright, screenwriter and theatre and film director.

· Alan Hollinghurst- He is an English novelist, short story writer, poet and translator. His work has won him award such as 1989 Somerset Maugham Award, the 1994 James Tait Black Memorial Prize and the 2004 Booker Prize.

· No Violet Bulawayo- She is a Zimbabwean author whose work include We Need New Names, 1914 – Goodbye to All That: Writers on the Conflict Between Life and Art.

· Richard Flanagan- He is an Australian novelist from Tasmania who has won the 2014 Man Booker Prize.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at
Show More

Harshita Bajaj

Harshita has a background in Psychology and Criminology and is currently pursuing her PhD in Criminology. She can be found reading crime thrillers (or any other book for that matter) or binge-watching shows on Netflix when she is not in hibernation.
Back to top button