Hot Topics

IPL finals throwback: Relive all the IPL finals in 50 words

A brief look into all the IPL finals from 2008 to 2019


After almost 7 weeks of non-stop cricket, IPL 2020 has finally come into the finals. The final match between four times champion Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals will decide who will win become the 2020 IPL champion. Mumbai Indians have never lost a game in the finals in the leadership of Rohit Sharma. Looking at the form and the strength, it seems that MI will be the favourites on the IPL finale night. While you are waiting for the IPL final to kick-off, relive all the IPL finals in 50 words.


1. IPL 2019  Mumbai Indian and Chennai Super Kings

This IPL final was a nail-biter in which Malinga did the magic and MI won the match by 1 run on the last ball. While chasing a low total of 149, MS Dhoni’s team fell short by 1 run. With this win, Mumbai became the most successful team in IPL.


2. IPL- 2018 Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Chennai Super Kings made a comeback in this year’s IPL after a two-year ban and won the trophy despite being the oldest side in the tournament in terms of age. MS Dhoni had the most successful year in 2018. Shane Watson scored a magnificent century to chase down 181 to claim their 3rd title.


Read more: Delhi Capitals reaches IPL finals for the first time, Delhites are emotional

3. IPL 2017 Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiants

This one also a very close contest in which MI defeated Steve Smith-led Rising Pune Supergiants. While chasing 130, RPS were not able to win the game despite efforts of Steve Smith. Mitchell Johnson did magic in last over by defending 11 runs and helped his team win the 3rd title.


4. IPL 2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

IPL 2016 final was a high-scoring match in which Virat’s RCB fell short by 8 runs. While chasing 209, RCB were on track with Gayle and Virat forging a century partnership within 10 overs. It was Ben Cutting who changed the match by taking wickets of Chris Gayle and KL Rahul.


5. IPL 2015- Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings were both facing each other in the finals for the third time. Mumbai Indians scored a humongous total of 202 runs in 20 overs. CSK could score only 161 as they lost the match by 41 runs. The duo of Mitchell McClenaghan and Lasith Malinga took 5 wickets together.


6. IPL 2014 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings Eleven Punjab

Kolkata Knight Riders while chasing a massive total of 200 in the finals, won the match by 3 wickets. Manish Pandey played a stunning knock of 94 of just 50 balls to take his team home. Wriddhiman Saha scored 115 not out of 55 balls but sadly it was in a losing cause.

7. IPL 2013 Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

It was the second time Mumbai Indians and CSK were facing each other in finals. Mumbai Indians won the low scoring match by 23 as they defended 148 easily. It was the first time when MI won the cup in the leadership of young Rohit Sharma.


8. IPL 2012 Kolkata Knight Riders vs Chennai Super Kings

Kolkata fulfilled its dream of becoming IPL champions after 5 years of the IPL inception. Gautam Gambhir led them the team into the finals where Manvinder Bisla scored a 48 ball 89 in the match while chasing 191. Earlier Suresh Raina had scored a blitzing 73 of 38 balls.


9. IPL 2011 Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chennai Super Kings won its second consecutive IPL trophy against RCB which had Chris Gayle in top form.  CSK posted a mammoth total of 205 runs with the help of Murali Vijay’s 95. RCB choked in the finals and could score only 147 runs at CSK’s home turf Chidambaram stadium.


10. IPL 2010 Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings became the champion of the IPL for the first time in 2010 after defeating Mumbai Indians by 22 runs. Chennai had set a target of 169 runs which MI couldn’t score. Suresh Raina scored 57 of 35 balls to put a good total. Despite late assaults by Keiron Pollard, MI lost the match.


11. IPL 2009 Deccan Chargers and Royals Challengers Bangalore

Deccan Chargers who were at the bottom of the table in 2008, won the trophy in 2010 under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist. RCB under the leadership of Anil Kumble failed to chase the target of 143 runs by 6 runs at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa.

12. IPL 2008 Rajasthan Royals vs Chennai Super Kings

Nobody had thought that Shane Warne’s Rajasthan Royals will win the trophy at the start of the tournament. But the young guns of the team, Shane Watson, Ravindra Jadeja and Yusuf Pathan had a great tournament. RR chased down the target of 163 set by CSK in the finals.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Show More
Back to top button