india will soon get its 14th President: Voting for India’s New President started - One World News

india will soon get its 14th President: Voting for India’s New President started

14th president will be chosen today

Let’s take a look back to the history of Indian Presidents

Independent India’s first president was Dr. Rajendra prasad, he was from Bihar and he was the longest serving president of India as he was there in the office for 12 years. Then in 1962 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan took that place, he was a great philosopher and he was linked with the education field he served as the VC of Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University.

Representational Image

Then India got it’s first Muslim president, Zakir Hussain became the President of India in 1967 he was the VC of Aligarh Muslim University. He was the shortest serving president of India as he died in 1969. Then Varahagiri Venkata Giri served as the Acting president he resigned after few months to take part in presidential elections, Mohammad Hidaytullah served as the acting president elections took place in the country.

The 4th president came and Varahagiri Venkata Giri took oath as Indian President. Then the 5thpresident was chosen and this time it was another muslim Fakhrudin Ali, he also served as the president during emergency.

He died before his tenure ended in 1977 and Basappa Danappa Jatti served as the acting president. Then 6th Indian President was chosen this time the first CM of Andhra got elected to the office Neelam Sanjiva Reddy became India’s 6th president.

The 7th President was a sikh that was Gyani Zail Singh. Then Ramaswamy Venkataraman became India’s 8th president as he was also a part of the great freedom struggle against the Britishers.

Then 9th president was chosen that was Shankar Dayal Sharmahe was a very experienced personality as he served as a governer in Andhra, Maharashtra and Punjab. Then India got it’s first Dalit president in the name of Kocheril Raman Naraynan, he formerly served as Indian ambassador in Thailand, Turkey, China and USA.

The 11thIndian President was the Missile Man of India Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, he was the first bachelor president of the country. Then after Dr. Kalam India got it’s first Lady President Dr. Pratibha Devi Singh Patil, as she also served as the first lady governor of Rajasthan. And the current Indian President is Dr. Pranab Mukherjee from 2012 till date.

Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind
Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind

The 14th President

India will get it’s 14th president on 20th July , the 2 candidates are Ram nath Kovind the former Governor of Bihar as it’s pretty much clear the just like India’s First President Dr. Prasad India will get another President from Bihar only as the vote percentage is totally in his favour.

The opposition side that is the UPA proposed the name of Meira Kumar as their nominee for the post as the left gave a slogan that this is a clash of ideologies and we will not support NDA’s Candidate.

THE Ongoing Voting

The electing process is going on today from 10 AM onwards as PM Narendra Modi casted down his vote and congratulated Kovind in advance.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!