Dhoni removed from the captaincy of Rising Pune Supergiants :Reports

Representative Image

Dhoni removed from the captaincy of Rising Pune Supergiants :Reports


  • MS Dhoni replaced by Steve Smith as a captain of Rising Pune Supergiants.
  • MS Dhoni replaced by Australia skipper Steve Smith

Shockingly, former captain of Indian cricket team Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been removed as captain of Indian Premier League (IPL) team Rising Pune Supergiants. MS Dhoni has been replaced by none and other than Australia skipper Steve Smith for the 10th season of IPL,which is scheduled to start from April 5. This decision came a day before the IPL 2017 player auctions to be held in Bengaluru. Notably, today IPL player auction will take in Bengaluru.

Representative Image
Representative Image

Related : Virat Kohli Is Taking ‘Captaincy Classes’ From MS Dhoni

It seems that slowly and steadily Dhoni will release his captaincy pressure to other players. Dhoni had resigned from the captaincy of the Indian ODI and T20I teams in January with Test captain Virat Kohli taking over. We must say cool captain will always be missed.

Rising Pune Supergiant’s owner Sanjiv Goenka said:

Replacing Dhoni by Smith, Rising Pune Supergiant’s owner Sanjiv Goenka was quoted saying that ” I have the highest regard for MS Dhoni as a leader and a person. Dhoni will continue to be an important part of our team. He is supportive of the decision keeping the franchise’s best interests in mind.”

The wicketkeeper-batsman has been the skipper of an IPL team in all past nine seasons. He first led Chennai Super Kings from 2008 to 2015, and then took charge of Pune Supergiants in 2016 after the Chennai franchise was suspended.

Related : Kohli Versus Dhoni: It’s Hard To Choose!

Goenka further added, “Dhoni has not stepped down. We have appointed Steve Smith as the skipper for the upcoming season. Frankly speaking, we did not have a good last season and we wanted someone young to lead the side and revamp it ahead of the upcoming season 10.”

Well, Dhoni has played in 143 IPL matches, scoring 3271 runs at an average of 39.40 and a strike rate of 138.95.

Under Dhoni’s captaincy, Chennai Super Kings had won the IPL title in 2010 and 2011, and also the Champions League T20 crown in 2010 and 2014.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at