Common Minimum Programme finalized in Maharashtra, Sena to get full term CM post

Ankit Kumar
Common Minimum Programme

Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress to get 14, 14 and 12 ministries respectively after the finalization of Common Minimum Programme

After a lot of  debate, the Common Minimum Programme has been finalized in Maharashtra which is currently under President’s rule. Shiv Sena will get a full-term CM post in a prospective of government with the Congress and the National Congress Party. The NCP and Congress will get to appoint its deputy Chief Minister each from their ranks.

Shiv Sena will get 14, NCP will get 14 seats and Congress will get 12 ministries in the post-election coalition government.

Common Minimum Programme to focus on youth and farmer issues

The three parties CMP (common minimum programme) is expected to focus on youth and farmer issues and there is no mention of Hindutva-related issues.

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut said on Friday morning that Uddhav Thackeray will decide on the final formula. He also said that whoever will have the figures, will form the government.

Sonia Gandhi for Congress and Sharad Pawar for NCP will meet this weekend to discuss details regarding the formation of the government.

Read more: CJI Ranjan Gogoi retirement: Big verdicts await before the retirement.

Two contentious issues are yet to be resolved between Sena and NCP, Congress

Two contentious issues are yet to be resolved: the congress and National Congress Party’s demand for 5 per cent reservation for Muslims and Sena’s demand for a Bharat Ratna for Savarkar.

Governor had informed the Centre that a stable government couldn’t be formed in the prevailing situation despite his efforts and asked for President’s Rule. President’s Rule was imposed in Maharashtra on Tuesday.

The BJP and Shiv Sena combined got the majority in the assembly election, but couldn’t settle for an agreement for the distribution of power including the CM post. BJP fought on 152 seats and won 105 seats while Shiv Sena won 56 seats from 124 seats.

On the other hand, Sharad Pawar’s NCP and Congress contested election together on 121 and 147 seats respectively. NCP won 54 while Congress got 44 seats.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments