CISSP certification – Know the eight essential domains

CISSP certification
CISSP certification

What is the CISSP Certification? Everything you need to know 

Information security professionals and candidates have immense scope in their career. The job opportunities are expanding with every passing day. And to make the most of this, it is essential that professionals and candidates should opt-in for relevant certification courses. One of the essential names here is the CISSP.

Simply put CISSP is a globally renowned qualification program that stands for Certified Information Systems Security Professional. It helps to offer the information security professionals and students with the know-how and competence of various aspects related to the subject.

Here it is essential to know about the eight domains of CISSP certification. They are:

1.Security and Risk Management

It is the most significant CISSP domain that concentrates on various crucial problems. The topics of integrity, confidentiality, accessibility get addressed here. That aside you also get to learn about compliance guidelines, security governance, the regulatory and security issues associated with information security. You can also learn about various IT procedures and policies along with the critical risk management topics.

2.Security Engineering

It encompasses many essential information security topics such as the following:

  • Basic concepts of the security models
  • Engineering methods making use of secure design practices
  • Security model concepts
  • Evaluating and resolving vulnerabilities inside systems
  • Designing and executing physical security
  • Cryptography

3.Asset security

This segment concentrates on the ownership and classification of the assets and information. Other topics here include privacy, managing data security needs and data security controls.

4.Communications and Network Security

This domain is all about designing and securing network security. The important topics that it covers are:

  • Secure design practices for the network structure
  • Elements of a safe network
  • Resolving network threats
  • Safe communication channels

5.Identity and Access Management

This domain assists the professional to understand the way to manage user access to data. You can learn about the logical and physical access to the assets. You also get to know how to integrate identity as a third-party identity and as a service. Other topics include identifying more on access control attacks, authentication, and identification.

6.Security Operations

This domain helps you to understand and assist investigations and the need for it. You also get to learn about monitoring and logging activities, concepts related to foundational safety functions, incident management, and disaster recovery. You learn the way to execute resource security methods and manage physical security.

7.Security Assessment and Testing

This domain concentrates on designing, analyzing as well as performing security testing. Some of the critical topics here include the following:

  • Designing and authenticating test and assessment strategies
  • Collating security process information
  • Security control testing
  • Third-party and the internal security audits

8.Software development security

It is the final domain in CISSP certification that enables professionals to understand, enforce and execute software protection. Here you get to learn SDLC (Software Development Life Cycle), one of the essential concepts in information security. You also learn about software security efficiency and secure coding standards and guidelines.

These are the eight CISSP domains that you will learn in-depth when you opt-in for the certification course. It helps you learn about the finer nuances about information security and its applications.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments