BJP to face crucial Trust Vote today in Karnataka

Trust Vote
BS Yediyurappa

Chief Minister BS Yediyruappa has moved Trust Vote in Assembly

After three weeks of the political game in Karnataka, BJP finally came to power in Karnataka. Bhartiya Janta Party led by Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa will move a crucial Trust Vote today in Assembly.  This comes after 14 Lawmakers from JDS-Congress were disqualified by the Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar

BS Yediyurappa who recently changed his spelling from Yeddyurappa said that he is 100% confident of getting the majority in Trust Vote. He also offered prayers at the Anjaneya temple in Bengaluru ahead of the crucial test.

Earlier coalition government failed in Trust Vote resulting in BJP government

BJP came into power after the Congress-JDS coalition government failed to prove majority in Trust Vote on last Tuesday. BJP leader BS Yediyurappa was sworn in as Chief Minister of Karnataka on Friday by the governor of Karnataka Vajubhai Vala.

Speaker of Karnataka KR Ramesh Kumar disqualified 11 rebel lawmakers from Congress and 3 from JDS yesterday. He had earlier disqualified 3 MLAs on 25th July.  Disqualifications till the term-end have called for by-polls in all the 16 constituencies. The effective strength of 224 members legislative assembly has now become 207 excluding the speaker. Speaker will vote in the case of a tie. The required magic figure will be 104. BJP in the Trust Vote moved by former Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy scored 105 while the coalition government could get only 99 votes.

Rebel MLAs to move Supreme Court against Speaker Ramesh Kumar

Three of the rebel MLAs will move to Supreme Court against the decision of disqualification by Speaker Ramesh Kumar.

Read More – Finance Minister seeks action on Azam Khan for sexist remarks

Congress is holding a meeting ahead of the floor test which is led by Siddaramaiah. The Congress Legislative Party (CLP) meet is attended by Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President Dinesh Gundu Rao, MB Patil, Priyank Kharge, KJ George, Eshwar Khandare and other Congress leaders at Vidhan Soudha.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at