BJP and Congress have lot on stakes for fifth phase Lok Sabha Election


Congress bastion Amethi and Raebareli facing the heat

The fifth phase of Lok Sabha Elections is underway in 51 constituencies across 7 states. Both the national parties BJP and Congress have a lot on stakes as 6th May will seal the fate of few political-giants. Rahul Gandhi and Smriti Irani are locking horns in Amethi. Rajnath Singh is up against the Mahagathbandhan candidate Poonam Saxena, wife of actor turned politician Shatrughan Sinha in Lucknow.  Sonia Gandhi is fighting from Raebareli against the BJP’s Dinesh SinghTripathi. As per the recent update 24.2% voters have turnout till 11 am.

Smriti Irani and Rahul Gandhi Lock Horns in Amethi

Smriti Irani gave a tough fight to Rahul Gandhi in 2014 Lok Sabha Elections. Rahul had won Amethi seat from approx 1,08,000 votes last time. This time political pundits are saying the fight stands at 50-50. Rahul Gandhi fighting from two constituencies has raised many eyebrows which has led to believe that the Congress president might not be confident about Amethi that’s why he is fighting from Wayanad in Kerala.

Sonia Gandhi and Rajnath Singh seeking  re-election

Sonia Gandhi is fighting from the Raebareli seat which has always been the Congress bastion and Congress seems confident about this seat. Rajnath Singh is looking for a repeat of his office term who defeated Rita Bahugna (Congress)  last year by almost 3,00,000 votes.

14 seats in UP, 12 seats in Rajasthan, 7 in MP, 7 in West Bengal, 5 in Bihar 4 in Jharkhand and 2 in Jammu & Kashmir is seeing the voting today. BJP is currently sitting on 39 of these seats, AITC on 7 seats and Congress on 2 seats. BJP would like to retain its seats and win some more seats whereas Congress would want the Gandhi mother-son duo to win both seats.

Read More-Modi attacks Rahul Gandhi, said “Rajiv Gandhi’s life ended as corrupt no. 1”

Ram Vilas not a part of elections this year

BJP would want its allies JDU and LJP win seats in Sitamarhi and Hajipur seats respectively in Bihar. The LJP President and current union minister Ram Vilas Paswan is currently serving his 8th term as MP in Hajipur. He isn’t contesting this year to get a place in Rajya Sabha. Pashupati Kumar Paras, brother of Ram Vilas has been fielded from Hajipur who is facing a tough fight from Grand Alliance candidate Shiv Chandra Ram.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at