Hot Topics

Bihar Assembly Election: Hot seats in the second phase

The fate of both the Lalu’s son will be sealed in the second phase of election


After the successful completion of first phase election in Bihar, preparations for the second phase election is in full swing. A total of 1,464 candidates are in the fray for the 94 assembly seats in the second phase of election. While Maharajganj has the highest number of candidates at 27, Darauli has just 4 candidates in the election. The fate of both the Lalu sons will be sealed in the second phase election as both Tejashwi and Tej Pratap will also be contesting on 3rd November.


1. Tejashwi Prasad Yadav- Raghopur

Tejasvi Prasad Yadav, RJD president has chosen the safest seat, Raghopur, for himself in the ongoing election. He won the 2015 election from here. The RJD bastion seat has been won by Lalu Prasad Yadav in 1995 and 2000 and by Rabri Devi in 2005. Tejasvi’s mother and former CM of Bihar, Rabri Devi had lost the seat in the 2010 election. Satish Kumar Yadav of BJP is contesting the election along with Rakesh Raushan of LJP.


2. Tej Pratap Yadav – Hasanpur

The elder son of Lalu Prasad Yadav, Tej Pratap Yadav is going to contest the assembly election from the Hasanpur seat of Samastipur. He is up against two-time winner Raj Kumar Ray of JDU who won 2010 and 2015 elections consecutively. LJP has also fielded its candidate, Manish Kumar Sahni from the seat. Earlier, Sunil Kumar Pushpam of RJD had won this seat in both the 2005 elections.


Read more: Is Tejashwi Prasad a new hope in Bihar amid anti-incumbency against Nitish?


3. Beena Singh/ Rama Singh – Mahnar

Beena Singh, wife of former MP and MLA Rama Singh is in a contest against Umesh Kushwaha of JDU. The ‘Bahubali’ leader Rama Singh was in news just before the death of Raghuwansh Prasad Singh as the veteran leader resigned from his post of state vice-president of RJD over the inclusion of Rama Singh in the RJD.  Rama Singh has won the assembly election on LJP’s ticket from Mahnar seat twice and once from JDU’s ticket.


4. Rana Randhir – Madhuban

There is a three-way contest in Madhuban where BJP’s sitting MLA Rana Randhir Singh is taking on Rashtriya Janata’s Dal candidate Madan Prasad Sahu. Shivjee Rai as the independent candidate also has an important role to play in the elections to affect the equation. BJP had won this seat from JDU during the seat-distribution talks.


5. Ramvichar Rai – Sahebganj

The current MLA of Sahebganj constituency from the Rashtriya Janata Dal, Ram Vichar Rai will be contesting directly against the VIP (Vikassheel Insaan Party) candidate Raju Kumar Singh. LJP has also fielded its candidate Krishan Kumar Singh from the constituency. While Ram Vichar Rai defeated Raju Kumar Singh in the 2015 elections, the latter had defeated the RJD candidate in the 2005 and 2010 election.  Sahebganj constituency is in the Muzaffarpur district of the state.

An estimated 54.26 per cent voting took place in the first phase on 28th October in 71 constituencies of 16 districts amid strict COVID-19 regulations and tight security. The third and last phase of election will be held on 7th November and the results will be declared on November 10.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Show More
Back to top button