Hot Topics

History of IPL: 7 Biggest Controversies Linked to IPL

Biggest controversies in IPL history! Everything you need to know

Indian Premier League is not only a cricket format in India but it is a festival. Cricket lovers wait for its brand new season every year. IPL 2021 has already begun and high voltage matches are driving the fans crazy. But do you know how IPL was started in India? The first season of IPL was played in the year 2008. Well, IPL is more than just a domestic cricket league. It is an elaborate annual extravaganza which combines serious sports with the trappings of a frenetic festival.

History of IPL: Top 7 controversies

1. Slap Controversy

Controversies were always a part of IPL. It began right from the first season. Mumbai Indians’ stand-in skipper Harbhajan Singh reportedly slapped King’s XI paceman S. Sreesanth after Punjab had won the match. The exact reason still remains a mystery but it is believed that Sreesanth said something which Harbhajan found offensive.

2. Pakistan bans Cricketers from IPL

In the backdrop of Mumbai Terror attack in November 2008, the Pakistan government said that it was unsafe for its players to travel to India. Top players were not given permission to travel to India.

Read more: 25 June 1983 – When First World Cup came home!

3. Lalit Modi controversy

The IPL Founder and chairman Lalit Modi was suspended from his post by BCCI. He was found guilty in the financial wrongdoing.

4. Ravindra Jadeja was banned from playing IPL for one year

Ravindra Jadeja was slapped with a ban on One year from IPL after he didn’t renew his contract with the Rajasthan Royals and tried to negotiate a more profitable deal with other franchise.

5. Confession by Cheerleaders shook the entire country

There were a few cheerleaders who had put some serious allegation on the players. It became very controversial in the fourth edition of IPL

6. Termination of Kochi Tuskers

Kochi Tuskers made his debut in the year 2011 and in the same year it was terminated as it failed to furnish its ban guarantee by the stipulated date, March 26

7. Shah Rukh Khan Wankhede Ban

The Bollywood star and Kolkata Knight Riders co-owner as involved in an altercation with security guards at Wankhede stadium after the match was over. He was accused of abusing the security guards.

Top 5 Successful Captains of IPL

1. Rohit Sharma

He was assigned the captaincy of Mumbai Indians midway in 2013. But he gave his best and became one of the most successful captains of IPL. The 27 – year –old led them to their maiden Primer league title and followed it up with the Champions League win in the same year.

2. Gautam Gambhir

He has won 46 matches in as many as 79 matches in the IPL. The left-handed batsman captained Delhi Daredevils after Sehwag stepped down. After that, he was roped in Kolkata Knight Riders where he tasted immense success.

3. MS Dhoni

When we talk about successful captains how can forget MS Dhoni? Captain of Chennai Super Kings holds the record of maximum victories in the IPl since season 1

4. Shane Warne

After his retirement from International cricket, Shane Warne was signed as the captain of Rajasthan Royals. In the first edition only he proved his mettle and his team managed to win the title.

5. Adam Gilchrist

He has 35 victories under his belt. He captained Deccan chargers and changed their fortunes after their flop show in the year 2008.

List of Winning Teams

2008:  Rajasthan Royals

2009: Deccan Chargers

2010: Chennai Super Kings

2011: Chennai Super Kings

2012: Kolkata Knight Riders

2013: Mumbai Indians

2014:  Kolkata Knight Riders

2015: Mumbai Indians

2016:  Sunrisers Hyderabad

2017:  Mumbai Indians

2018: Chennai Super Kings

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at

Show More

Parul Srivastava

She likes to express herself through her write-ups. She doesn’t believe in doing different things but she enjoy doing things differently.
Back to top button