5 Foods That You Should Avoid During Navratri

Avatar
0
666
food to avoid during navratri

Foods that you should not consume during these nine-days


 

India is known for its culture and tradition all over the world. It is also called the land of festivals and soon, we will be celebrating Sharad Navratri 2020. Navratri holds a special place in our festival. Dedicated to the worship of Goddess Durga, the 9-day fasting period will start on 17th October 2020 and would end on 25th October (Navami). Devotees of Maa Durga, wake up early, bath and pray to the nine forms of Goddess Durga to seek her divine blessings during this auspicious period. To stay away from greasy, heavy or unhealthy food Indian detox time is here. Fasting around this time helps to cleanse and detoxify your body.

Here are some foods that we should not consume during Navratri:-

1. Alcohol and Non-vegetarian food: Consumption of alcohol and Chicken, mutton, fish, lamb, eggs and all non-vegetarian products are strictly avoided during this time. These foods fall under the category of Rajasic foods. Devotees who aren’t fasting but they worship Maa Durga should also try to avoid of having non-vegetarian food.

Read more: What to Eat During Navratri Fast to Stay Energetic

2. Onion and Garlic:-During Navratra, it is advised to prepare meals without the usage of onion and garlic. According to Ayurveda, garlic and onion should be avoided during seasonal change as they are Tamasic in its nature and it tends to heat up your body temperature from within.

3. Salt: You are not allowed to use normal table salt during Navratra. Sendha namak is used for preparing your meals during this time because it has low sodium content in its nature.

4. Spices: The ruler of Indian household with haldi, coriander, cumin seeds are commonly avoided during the Navratri fasts. You can use sendha namak and chilli powder and some household use cumin powder as well.

5. Grains, Flour and Rice: Several types of flours including corn flour, semolina, rice flour, all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour, and gram flour are strongly prohibited during the fasting of nine days. You can use buckwheat flour (kuttu) or water chestnut flour (singhare ka atta) instead. Even, you can’t have your regular rice during these days but you can use the special vrat ke chaawal, popularly known as Samak ke Chawal for your daily meals.

Have a news story, an interesting write-up or simply a suggestion? Write to us at info@oneworldnews.com