KKR Lifts Their 2nd IPL

KKR Lifts Their 2nd IPL

The Indian Premier League final at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore was definitely a grandiose of sorts. After almost four hundred runs being scored, Kolkata Knight Riders emerged as the champions of the seventh edition, their second in three years. The two consistent teams, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders, surely lived up to the expectations, to come up with spectacular performances and providing wholesome entertainment to the fans, world-wide.


On, which seemed like a ‘beautiful batting wicket’ KKR won the toss and elected to bowl first. It was clear that captain Gautam Gambhir had enough confidence in his bowlers, to test them against the swash-buckling Punjab batting order. With the likes of Morne Morkel and Sunil Naraine leading the bowling department, much was on line for the 2012 edition champions. But the day belonged to young guns Wriddhiman Saha and Manav Vohra. Their 129 run partnership for the third wicket was certainly the most fascinating episode of the day.

After the dismissal of Virendra Sehwag and captain George Bailey, it was on these two unsung heroes to steer the ‘Red Devils’ to a challenging total. And boy! They came in blazing all guns. Saha produced the third century of the tournament and the first-ever in any IPL final and some sensational hitting by Vohra made it look quite a day for the Indian domestic heroes to come to the party.


At the end of the first innings, Punjab had put up 199/4 on the board and now, with 200 runs to be scored of twenty overs, Kolkata surely had a task cut out for themselves. Orange cap holder Robin Uthappa surely had all eyes set on him but it was city boy Manish Pandey who turned out to be the knight in shining armour for Kolkata. His 50-ball 94 was certainly a winning effort as he clobbered the Punjab bowling attack all around the park, ensuring that the boys in purple have the last laugh. One must not forget the cameos of Yusuf Pathan, the only player to have won three IPL’s, and Piyush Chawla, whose six off Mitchell Johnson was quite the turning point of the game.

The forty-seven day carnival has come to an end with the ‘City of Joy’ taking back the IPL7 trophy back home. Korechey Lorechey Jeetechey!

Photo Courtesy :

Photo Courtesy :,xcitefun-shahrukh-kkr-celebration-1.jpg

Photo Courtesy :

Have any story regarding the Hockey World Cup and want to share, mail us at





All Rights Reserved © One World News



Copyright © 2016 ONE WORLD NEWS