IPL 2017: Match Format, Teams And Venues

IPL 2017: Match Format, Teams And Venues
Inder Rawat

IPL 2017 is all set to begin from 5 April 2017

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 league contested during April and May of every year in India. Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the founder of the Indian Premier League and it was established in 2007.IPL 2017 is the 10th season of IPL. There are 8 teams in the IPL and the current champion of the IPL is, Sunrisers Hyderabad. The most successful teams till now in all the series of IPL are Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knights Riders, Mumbai Indians and Hyderabad. Till now, ViratKohli is the highest run scorer, he scored 4110 runs and LasithMalinga is the highest wicket taker, he took 143 wickets.

Representative Image

In the world, IPL is the most-attended cricket league and placed sixth among all sports leagues. It created history when it became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcasted live on YouTube.

Individual Awards

Orange Cap: This cap is awarded for the highest run-scorer during a season of IPL.
Purple Cap: This cap is awarded for the highest wicket taker during a season of IPL.

Current Teams IPL 2017

TeamState  CaptainCoachJoined
Delhi DaredevilsDelhi Zaheer KhanPaddy Upton2008
Kings XI PunjabPunjab Glenn MaxwellVirenderSehwag2008
Kolkata Knight RidersWest BengalGautamGambhirJacques Kallis2008
Mumbai IndiansMaharashtra Rohit SharmaMahelaJayawardene2008
Royal Challengers BangaloreBangaloreViratKohliDaniel Vettori2008
Sunrisers HyderabadTelanganaDavid WarnerTom Moody2013
Rising Pune SupergiantsMaharashtraSteve SmithStephen Fleming2016
Gujarat LionsGujaratSuresh RainaBrad Hodge2016


This year ten venues were selected to host the all IPL matches. The opening and the final matches will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad.

Current Teams 2017

BangaloreM. Chinnaswamy Stadium
DelhiFeroz Shah Kotla
HyderabadRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium
IndoreHolkar Cricket Stadium
KanpurGreen Park
MohaliPunjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium
MumbaiWankhede Stadium
PuneMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium
RajkotSaurashtra Cricket Association Stadium
KolkataEden Garden

List of first 10 matches

5 April


Sunrisers Hyderabad v/s Royal Challengers BangaloreRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
6 April


Rising Pune Supergiants v/s Mumbai IndiansMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune
7 April


Gujarat Lions v/s Kolkata Knight RidersSaurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot
8 April


Kings XI Punjab v/s Rising Pune SupergiantsHolkar Stadium, Indore
8 April


Royal Challengers Bangalore v/s Delhi DaredevilsM. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
9 April


Sunrisers Hyderabad v/s Gujarat LionsRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
9 April


Mumbai Indians v/s Kolkata Knight RidersWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
10 April


Kings XI Punjab v/s Royal Challengers BangaloreHolkar Stadium, Indore
11 April


Rising Pune Supergiants v/s Delhi Daredevils Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune
12 April


Mumbai Indians v/s Sunrisers HyderabadWankhede Stadium, Mumbai



More in Cricket

All Rights Reserved © One World News



Copyright © 2016 ONE WORLD NEWS